Hello, my name is Gabriel.

Whether you have found this blog because you’re one of my friends IRL (in real life), was redirected here from my Livejournal or just stumbled here while you were blog-hopping and/or web-surfing, welcome to the place where I’ll be writing down anything of fancy that happens in my (usually very mundane) life or whenever a thought strikes me (which, if you’re one of my friends IRL you would know, isn’t very often).

Well, whether you know me or not, let me just bore you a little further and give you a brief idea of who I am (why brief? Cause there really isn’t that much to me, I’m afraid. What you see is pretty much what you’d get).

As mentioned, my name is Gabriel. That’s me in that photo above, trying to be all cool and dramatic (which is something that I do often, mostly in vain). I’m a very normal (or so I’d think) Singaporean Chinese (for any foreign readers, that does not mean that I am, nor is my country, located anywhere in China) who’s just left behind my innocent and sweet teenage years (although some of my friends might be inclined to disagree with the adjectives I used) for the prime-of-life 20s.

Having graduated from Ngee Ann Polytechnic with a diploma in Mass Communication a few months earlier, I am currently serving my nation, defending my people, protecting my land (etc etc.) as part of the army. In the (slightly distant) future, I’ll be taking the Arts and Social Sciences course at the National University of Singapore, before embarking (hopefully) on a career of child psychology as well as tertiary-level lecturing.

In my free time (which, in recent months, is depressingly low), I like to read and, when the mood strikes, write. I love the young adult, fantasy and comedy genres, my favourite authors (meaning I’ll read and rave about any of their books with utter biase) being Terry Pratchett, Piers Anthony and, like most other ex-teens, J.K. Rowling. Of course, while my tastes usually veer to the light and fluffy, once in a while I indulge my (limited) intellect and read something a bit more substantial like The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (which, admittedly, isn’t even that brain-requiring but hey, if I wanted to read something cheem I would go get a textbook yeah?).

I also occasionally read comics and manga, most notably the Prince of Tennis series, which I was and, still am, very crazy about.

Like most people my age, I also indulge myself, whenever I can, in TV, movies, music and games. To attempt to garner some random readers and lure unsuspecting web-surfers, I am going to just list out some of my favourite shows/movies/singers/games in the hopes that people searching these terms on any search engine would be directed here by their bad luck (see if you can discern, among my list, which are shows, which are singers and which are games): Prince of Tennis, Bleach, Pokemon, Arrested Development, American Idol, 30 Rock, Whose Line Is It Anyway, America’s Next Top Model, f.r.i.e.n.d.s., Avatar The Last Airbender, Heroes, Buffy The Vampire Slayer, How I Met Your Mother, Kelly Clarkson, Phantom Planet, S.H.E., Zhang Zhen Yue, Barenaked Ladies, Chris Tomlin, Hillsong, Avalon, Gavin Degraw, Carrie Underwood, Sun Yan Zi, Kutless, Natasha Bedingfield, Liang Jing Ru, Lin Jun Jie, Heroes of Might and Magic, Mario Kart DS, Virtua Tennis.

(Of course, this isn’t anywhere near exhaustive a list of my favourites but, off the top of my head, these are what I came up with).

I also profess to having an intense liking for tennis and try to follow major tournaments whenever time (and television channels) allows. Players I love to see in action include everyone’s favourite Roger Federer, Novak Djokovic, Justine Henin and Ana Ivanovic. Being a fan of the sport, I also try to play it whenever I can, although what I purport to be playing as tennis usually doesn’t even look anything like the actual sport, being the total untalent I am at sports.

Oh yeah and I’m also slightly obsessive when it comes to order and some people (including myself, at times) have described me as mildly obsessive compulsive, what with my inexplicable need for symmetry in everything I do as well as an almost unhealthy penchant for making lists out of everything I can so don’t be surprised to see that some (or many) of my blog entries will be comprised of lists. Hey, if anything, it makes it easier to read right?

Anyway, that’s about all that there is to know about me, as far as I can think of, at the moment. So, hope you have an enjoyable time here and do leave a comment once in a while (especially if it’s something along the lines of “wow your blog is awesome!!!”) if it strikes your fancy!

Leave a Reply

