Don’t call my name, Alejandro!

Continuing her tradition of ridiculously long and dramatic music videos, Lady GaGa’s ‘Alejandro’ MV is an eight minute monster of a video that features no less than four billion outfits borrowed from Madonna and even a Johnny Depp/Tim Burton look, apparently.


(Picture courtesy of ONTD)

Have to say, though, that the song is one of my favourites from her album but I was thoroughly disappointed with the music video. After a watch through, I have absolutely no idea what is happening in the entire thing, there were all sorts of random allegories and imagery that I didn’t have the energy to try to interpret and man, girl can’t dance!

Although ‘Paparazzi’ and even ‘Telephone’ were also insanely long, I thought they were actually pretty well done and entertaining, with an elaborate but well-sequenced storyline and a general sense of cohesion. Here, not only do several of the scenes seem to be disconnected and mishmashed, but I thought they could have skipped the entire overblown, overdrawn introduction sequence (which didn’t really add much to the overall product) and squeezed the entire song into a normal, four minute MV.

It’s different, I guess. Or maybe I just have to watch it a few more times to fully understand/appreciate the artistry of the video.

Leave a Reply

