Currently reading: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

gatsby-original-cover-art

The Great Gatsby is a 1925 novel written by American author F. Scott Fitzgerald that follows a cast of characters living in the fictional town of West Egg on prosperous Long Island in the summer of 1922. The story primarily concerns the young and mysterious millionaire Jay Gatsby and his quixotic passion for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan. Considered to be Fitzgerald’s magnum opus, The Great Gatsby explores themes of decadence, idealism, resistance to change, social upheaval, and excess, creating a portrait of the Jazz Age that has been described as a cautionary tale regarding the American Dream

-Excerpt from Wikipedia

I’ve never been a fan of classics. As someone weaned on a diet of young adult novels, urban fantasies and comedy autobiographies, classics have always felt a tad tedious for me, with prose styles that I am often unfamiliar with and am unable to appreciate. Although this can be true with modern literary hits as well (I mean, I found Life of Pi to be exceedingly boring and trying), it is a dislike that is most pronounced with me in books that were written long ago (Moby Dick, for example, much like its titular character, was a monumental monster to work through, although I guess it could just be that I have an inexplicable hatred for sea-going fares).

Still, I’m going to give The Great Gatsby a whirl (and no, it’s definitely not because the movie is out, since I don’t even seem to watch those any more). I mean, it has inspired the name for the writing category of this blog (and was at one time even up for contention as a new name for the entire site, as well as my social media handle) and, hey, I need to be able to at least know what a Great American Novel is like before I can make pretentious derogatory statements like “pfft, the only thing great about it is that one word in the title”.

Also, it’s short. Really short. It’s even shorter than most of the “light” books I read, which is saying quite a lot considering I have the attention span of a two year old. It’s so short that I’m pretty sure I could get through it over a particular intense toilet session, provided I have copious amounts of spicy food beforehand.

Stay tuned to find out the (really inconsequential) verdict!

Leave a Reply

