Top Ten Tuesday: I love being a blogger/reader.

[This post is done as part of the Top Ten Tuesday meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish]

So this is my first Top Ten Tuesday in quite a while and I purposely picked this topic not only because I’m both a blogger and a reader (what are the chances, right?), but also because I’m actually really terrible at generating lists and this cuts my workload for each in half. Because giving two topics for a Top Ten list means I only have to do five each right? Right?

Having grown up a voracious reader, I’ve never gone anywhere without a book. I mean, I’m one of those rare, strange people who actually gets more use out of a Kindle than an iPad Mini. Still, I’ve never really given much thought as to why I read, only knowing that I like and want to do so. Here are five reasons why I love being a reader:

1. Escape

Although I don’t really actually have anything to escape from, it’s still nice to be able to take a vacation on another world once in a while, even if it’s a dystopian horrorscape. I call it the Great Immersion Diversion from life.

2. Vicarious living

Of course, it’s not enough that I get to escape to a whole new world for a few hours minutes every time. (Good) books don’t just let me be in another world; they let me be in another person as well (which is all sorts of wrong-sounding since I’m not even talking smut. Yet.). I mean, why be your own boring self when you can be a gibberish-spouting spellcaster/worldsaver ingénue?

3. Inspiration

As an aspiring writer wordsmith thesaurus-user, there’s nothing like looking at other books to see what works and what doesn’t. After all, plagiarism is the sincerest form of flattery right?

4. Fandomery

Tumblr. ‘Nuff said.

5. Snobbery

Not To be one of Those People, reading allows me to always always say “ew, that was done so much better in the book version” because it’s always always true.

I started blogging back when I was in secondary school (around 2001), so I think that means I’ve been doing this since, like, computers were just invented or something. Despite that, I’ve never managed to amass any sort of readership, probably because I am not actually very good at this writing thing kept jumping services and usernames. Still, like one of those anime heroes with Heart, I never stopped, and here are five reasons why:

1. Because I’m narcissistic exhibitionistic care enough to share

I mean, if I don’t let others know about me and my life and what I think about things, who’s going to do the good deed for me?

2. Because my memory sucks blogging provides a good way to remember the past

As any adult can attest to, one’s memory starts a steep descent once you’re on the wrong side of 25 (no? Just me, then?). I mean, I can barely remember what I had for lunch, much less what happened a week, month or even a year ago. Plus, it makes for great reference material for me to see how I’ve been wasting my life away those pesky end-of-year wrap-ups.

3. Because it helps to hone my writing skills

The jury’s still out on this one, though, because goodness knows after 12 years of doing this (and having a diploma in Mass Communication and having been the editor for my school’s online e-zine and newspaper), I still can barely string a coherent sentence together.

4. Because it’s cathartic

When they said that writing helps you to develop and release your inner voice, they didn’t mention that it’s actually several inner voices (no? Just me, again?).

5. Because it helps me connect to other like-minded  people

Again, not so much with this one (read: the introduction to this section). Still, this could very well change soon. Any takers want to start the ball rolling?

[eta. Apparently, the topic wasn’t Top Ten reasons I love being a reader and blogger but being a reader and a book blogger. Which makes so much more sense. Still, I’m lazy most of what I wrote above about blogging still applies to book blogging as well so I’m leaving it there).

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: I love being a blogger/reader.

Leave a Reply

