Top Ten Tuesday: Popular authors I’ve never read.

[This post is done as part of the Top Ten Tuesday meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish]

I think it’s safe to say that when it comes to popular authors, I’ve not read more of them than I have read. Even when it comes to books, I’m a creature of habit and stick with the few authors I love (although that has changed somewhat since I’ve started blossoming slowly ingratiating myself into the online book community). For every J. K. Rowling or K. A. Applegate that I’ve reread a gazillion times, there will be another ten…well…authors like you’ll see on this list.

Even though popularity is a pretty nebulous concept, I’m just going to go with the names I can generate off the top of my head because those totally have to be the biggest ones, right? I mean, heuristics scheuristics. Of course, there are several genres that I’m not into containing a bajillion popular authors I will probably never touch (thrillers like Clive Cussler, James Patterson, Dean Koontz) and I’m generally not a fan of classics (never read anything from Tolstoy, Austen, even Hemingway, among others) so I’ll concentrate on the few genres I do read, lest the list ramble on into a Top Thousand Tuesday instead.

So, without further ado, here are my Top Ten Popular Fantasy/Young-Adult Authors I’ve never read:

1. Terry Brooks

I’ve been told that his Shannara series is an excellent entry point into the world of fantasy but, having dipped my feet into the waters of High Fantasy several times, I’ve still never gotten round to reading his books. I do have several of them in my Kindle waiting for the right time but, with so many other more contemporary titles exciting me more, the “right time” never seems to come.

2. Raymond E. Feist

I had a good friend who, even at the young age of 12, swore by Feist’s books. Despite that, I never got into him because at that time I discovered the wonder that is Terry Pratchett and the Discworld series had so many books (pretty sure it’s in the 500s by now) I never got around to reading any of Feist’s works.

3. Stephanie Meyer

Ah, everyone’s favourite series to hate on. I have to admit that I haven’t actually the books, although I’ve seen plenty of snips here and there and, of course, seen the trailers for the movies (because at this point I’m sure even my grandma who doesn’t have internet connection or know what a computer is would have seen one). I’m generally not a fan of romance (which, yes, I know is kinda weird considering I’m into YA) and, considering how much everyone has been talking about how badly the books are written, I’ve always gone with spending time with other books instead.

4. Anne Rice

Again, not a fan of romance stuff. And yes I know that Rice’s novels are so much more than that but, again, there are so many other books (even vampire ones) that I’ve found more interesting as prospects to be read. Will definitely get around to reading at least one of her books one day, though.

5. John Green

Ah, the hottest author of the moment. I’ve been told that his books are like emotional sledgehammers and even though I’m not usually a fan of emotional dramas, this is the next book I’ll be reading once I’m done with Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood (another author who, prior to my current reading, would have belonged on this list), if just to see what all the hype is about.

6. Dr. Seuss

I know I know! How can I have never read this, right? For some reason, Dr. Seuss just wasn’t such a big thing over here in Singapore (at least not to my knowledge) and my childhood was crowded enough with Roald Dahl, K. A. Applegate, R. L. Stine and a whole host of assorted kiddy reads that I never got round to any of his books.

7. R. A. Salvatore

Yes, I’ve never read one of the forefathers of fantasy and author of 34545 books. I do plan to get around to him one day (another author whose works are already loaded into my Kindle) but I guess you can say that I just keep placing him in…the Forgotten Realms. Heh.

8. E. L. James

Again, read #3, but replace romance with softcore pr0n.

9. George R. R. Martin

Shock! How can I call myself a reader of fantasy if I’ve never even touched one of the most popular series of all times?! For some reason, I’ve never gotten started on Martin’s books. He’s another of those authors whose books everyone marvels at that I’ve placed on my Kindle but never turned to. Maybe I’m just not a fan of having to learn 500 different characters and then having them all die on me.

10. Robert Jordan

I’ve always been intimidating by the sheer immensity of his Wheel of Time series. I’ve heard that people keep entire notebooks and websites just to follow what’s going on in his series and that entire books in the middle can get draggy, which is a no-no for a 15-mins-attention-span reader like me. Plus, I’ve never been a fan of reading books that can also double up as house-building material.

Bonus section: here’s a (really) popular author that I have barely glanced at:

J. R. R. Tolkien – SACRILEGE! I got halfway through The Fellowship of the Ring before I gave up. Pretty sure it was the 157th elfsong that killed me. I just couldn’t get into his amazingly detailed descriptive style and, perhaps because I’ve already read so much newer fantasy before approaching his books, I could never appreciate how groundbreaking many of the things mentioned in the LoTR series were. As an added bonus, I couldn’t even get through the first movie!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Popular authors I’ve never read.

Leave a Reply

