Hobbled hobbies.

46758480

Sometimes I really admire those who are so incredibly passionate about just one or two areas of interest. Every so often, I come across a writing enthusiast who spends all his/her free time churning out The Next (Great?) Novel or a book blogger who devours, like, two books a day (which, unless I missed some incredible speed reading class we all had to go through in school, probably means he/she won’t have time for much else) and I’m always in awe of their unbridled excitement of, and focus on, that singular hobby.

Me? I’m just a big mess of hobbies – reading, writing, surfing the interwebz, catching up on comedies/anime, gaming. Because I’m so greedy a hoarder a Collector, I often amass a ridiculous amount of books, shows or games to go through in my spare time and, because I am not immensely interested in one over the other and because I’m so overwhelmed by the sheer number of choices, I often just give up and end up not doing any of them. Yes, sometimes I have so many choices of entertainment that I glitch out and just sit at my desk, staring blankly at the screen. I’m one of those people.

I know it’s an incredibly douchey and #firstworldproblem to complain about (which I’m quite thankful for, since that means I’m pretty blessed in the areas of life that really matter), but sometimes I wish I just had less things that hold my interest equally so that I won’t have so much trouble choosing between them. I wish I was just into books, or just into games, or just into working hard and/or making the world a better place (which, ok, I would have to make a hobby of in the first place).

What about you, dear reader(s?)? What hobbies do you have? How do you choose between them when you have to? Is there any one you would die without?

Leave a Reply

