Weekly Updates.

This new feature!

Remember my Weekly Obsessions? That feature fell by the wayside because I got lazy it’s quite improbable for me to be obsessed over new things every single week. Still, in an effort to get me blogging on a semi-regular basis again, I’ve decided to tweak the idea slightly into a Weekly Updates column instead. That way, even if I don’t have some fancy new thing that I spent all week fawning over, I can still have things to share. Hopefully.

Home Alone*

(*not really)

My parents were away the whole week on a trip to the land of sushi and hot springs so I was pretty much Lord of the House – a title, alas, that is less when-the-cats-are-away and more the-mice-come-out-to-do-housework than expected. I had BFF XW over several nights and we went grocery shopping in an attempt to cook some dinners, which led to a few discoveries, namely that…

  • …groceries are ridiculously expensive nowadays.
  • …taco shells need to be prepared and can’t just be eaten out of the box.
  • …sesame salad dressing should just be slathered on any edible thing ever.
  • …I should not be trusted with gauging ingredients because I somehow managed to coat every single thing in my kitchen with a layer of cooking oil, having emptied half the bottle into the wok with reckless abandon.
  • …Roger Furderer (i.e. The Cat) is deathly afraid of garlic, which confirms my theory that he is a vampire and explains why he’s always skulking around in shadows and also trying to bite me all the time.

Book haul

Ever since I’ve come to know the joys of (very slight) disposable income and the amazingness of e-readers, I’ve largely stayed away from library books. Library books are usually crummy, and tattered (which I’m pretty sure means the same thing as crummy but just go with it – I’m an artist), and filled with all sorts of nasty germs and bacteria and viruses (which, again, I’m pretty sure mean the same thing but don’t take me up on that – I’m an artist).

Still, as you will (hopefully) read on an upcoming post in a couple of days, last month I came across a whole bunch of books on my TBR list in the library and they all happened to look clean and new so I borrowed the whole lot. Today, I returned those few and chanced upon two more from my list.

18594377

Sixteen-year-old Holly wants to remember her Grandpa forever, but she’d rather forget what he left her in his will: his wedding chapel on the Las Vegas strip. Whatever happened to gold watches, savings bonds, or some normal inheritance?

And then there’s Grandpa’s letter. Not only is Holly running the business with her recently divorced parents, but she needs to make some serious money—fast. Grandpa also insists Holly reach out to Dax, the grandson of her family’s mortal enemy and owner of the cheesy chapel next door. No matter how cute Dax is, Holly needs to stay focused: on her group of guy friends, her disjointed family, work, school and… Dax. No wait, not Dax.

Holly’s chapel represents everything she’s ever loved in her past. Dax might be everything she could ever love in the future. But as for right now, there’s a wedding chapel to save.

Goodreads

I don’t remember the circumstances that led me to put this book on my TBR, and it’s not high priority on that list, but there’s no reason not to get it when the library copy looks pretty brand new and, even with the hardcover, is still pretty thin and light, which makes for a decent travel companion.

18051349

Listen — Travis Coates was alive once and then he wasn’t.

Now he’s alive again.

Simple as that.

The in between part is still a little fuzzy, but he can tell you that, at some point or another, his head got chopped off and shoved into a freezer in Denver, Colorado. Five years later, it was reattached to some other guy’s body, and well, here he is. Despite all logic, he’s still 16 and everything and everyone around him has changed. That includes his bedroom, his parents, his best friend, and his girlfriend. Or maybe she’s not his girlfriend anymore? That’s a bit fuzzy too.

Looks like if the new Travis and the old Travis are ever going to find a way to exist together, then there are going to be a few more scars.

Oh well, you only live twice.

Goodreads

Now, this one I do remember adding on to my list, if only because I’ve seen it being raved about in so many Booktubes. I was actually waiting for it to come out in paperback but, again, it was sitting there on the shelf looking all take-me-take-me! and pristine so I heeded its call. Look forward to a review of it in two weeks! months sometime maybe.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Updates.

Leave a Reply

