Weekly Wrap-up.

IMG_4869.JPG

It’s been an exciting week of new gains! Snagged a bunch of great books (in great condition) at the library and also got two games that I’ve been jumping off my seat edge for. Unlike the last few game hauls, these two are huge blockbusters that burned my wallet a lot more.

  • Books
    • I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora: I can’t remember when (and why) this got on my TBR wishlist but it was a nice surprise finding it at the library since I had never seen it anywhere (in other libraries or bookstores) before.
    • Half My Friends Are Ferrets by J. A. Buckle: I’ve never heard of this book before but it’s always refreshing to get a light, hearty teen romp.
    • Sabriel by Garth Nix: I actually bought a copy of this several years ago at a warehouse sale (no doubt enticed by the fact that the title sounds really close to my name) and then never read it, eventually chucking it away when it got frumpy. Heard great things about this recently, though, so I picked up the only clean copy at the library.
    • Schizo by Nic Sheff: really wasn’t expecting this to be available so soon since I had just seen some Booktubers preview it but I guess the librarians here are really fantastic at procurement. Books about mental illness are never fun reads but as a psychology grad this is shoe-in for my reading list.
  • Games
    • The Sims 4: I didn’t really get into the previous Sims iterations all that much but Sims Freeplay on iOS has been an integral part of my gaming universe for the past few years so I decided to grab this during opening month. It’s been pretty great so far, although the interface can take a while to get less…overwhelming.
    • Super Smash Bros for 3DS: I’ve always loved this series (although I’ve never been very good at it) and the one thing I always yearned for was for Nintendo to bring it to the handhelds so of course I had to get it on opening day. Thankfully, even though I hemmed and hawed between pre-ordering a physical copy or downloading it from the e-store (eventually deciding on the former), I still managed to get it cheap because I had previously pre-ordered at a shop that didn’t require a deposit.
Leave a Reply

