GaCoWriMo #1 – No, I didn’t misspell that.

I’ve always wanted to take part in NaNoWriMo but never got to thanks to term finals dominating my Novembers. For the uninitiated, the National Novel Writing Month is an annual event where the challenge is to finish a 50,000-word rough draft of a novel within 30 days. This year, I’m finally free from the shackles of furious (and panicked) cramming so of course I would totally forget about the whole thing until the last day of October.

Because rushing head first into a 50k project without any form of outline or preparation (or even any solid story idea) seems like something that will fizzle out faster than a Coke Light left in the open, I’ve decided to try something slightly easier (though still incredibly daunting considering my inability to even blog more than once a week these days). Inspired by NaBloWrimo challenges from previous years (where bloggers post entries once a day), I’m proud (and totally trepidatious) to introduce my own twist.

Gabriel’s Consistent Writing Month, or GaCoWriMo, will be my attempt to churn out something every single day of the month. Rather than focus on a specific word count, I’ll be concentrating instead on maintaining a regular flow in an attempt to introduce some much-needed momentum back into my writing life.

Each day, I will write at least one of the following, with no word count limits:

  • A post for this blog
  • A feature for an upcoming, top-secret project of mine
  • A chapter in any of my fanfiction projects
  • Any other form of (non-work) writing

This way, I hope to be able to get back into the rhythm of writing regularly without going into shock from attempting to write a full length novel from scratch. Wish me luck!

Dear reader, will you be taking part in NaNoWriMo (or related activities)? If you are, tell me more!

2 thoughts on “GaCoWriMo #1 – No, I didn’t misspell that.

  1. Pingback: GaBloWriMo #1.

Leave a Reply

