Weekly Wrap-up.

[This post is done as part of GaCoWriMo, my own personal twist to NaNoWriMo. Yes yes, I know this is the only post I do actually post regularly anyway so it’s kinda cheating to include it but it’s the second day of the challenge and there’s nothing like a good clutch to ease me into it so let’s just go with it.]

It’s been an enjoyable week. At work, I’m finally getting into the swing of my duties but the pacing is still thankfully relaxed. I also finally resumed exercising after my almost-flu of the past few weeks. Plus, I got to meet several friends over the course of the week.

To top it all off, I visited the newly relocated Kinokuniya at Ngee Ann City and they were having a 20% members’ sale to commemorate the move so I walked away with a tidy little great-value haul.

Something strange is happening at the Orsk furniture superstore in Cleveland, Ohio. Every morning, employees arrive to find broken Kjerring bookshelves, shattered Glans water goblets, and smashed Liripip wardrobes. Sales are down, security cameras reveal nothing, and store managers are panicking.

To unravel the mystery, three employees volunteer to work a nine-hour dusk-till-dawn shift. In the dead of the night, they’ll patrol the empty showroom floor, investigate strange sights and sounds, and encounter horrors that defy the imagination.

A traditional haunted house story in a thoroughly contemporary setting, Horrorstör comes packaged in the form of a glossy mail order catalog, complete with product illustrations, a home delivery order form, and a map of Orsk’s labyrinthine showroom. It’s “a treat for fans of The Evil Dead or Zombieland, complete with affordable solutions for better living.”—Kirkus Reviews.

Goodreads

I’m not normally a fan of horror stories but I saw this a few days back on several book blogs and Booktubes and I thought it was a really cool idea. I mean, they basically BookBooked Ikea. I didn’t expect to see it so quickly in a bookstore (especially not at the price it was going for), though, so I snagged it before I freaked myself out of getting a copy.

Saleem Sinai was born at midnight, the midnight of India’s independence, and found himself mysteriously ‘handcuffed to history’ by the coincidence. He is one of 1,001 children born at the midnight hour, each of them endowed with an extraordinary talent – and whose privilege and curse it is to be both master and victims of their times. Through Saleem’s gifts – inner ear and wildly sensitive sense of smell – we are drawn into a fascinating family saga set against the vast, colourful background of the India of the 20th century.

Goodreads

I don’t think I have to introduce the Booker of Bookers, right? I read this several years back and fell in love with Rushdie’s imaginative mastery of the English Language. Been looking to get a copy of my own and I really like this particular cover so when I saw it priced really competitively (post-discount), I knew I couldn’t miss the chance.

Also got myself a 2015 Moleskine planner. I was actually planning to get this from Books Depository because it’s cheaper there but they’re out of stock for pretty much all the 2015 planners so when I saw this at Kino I figured I better get it before even this option dried up. Thankfully, with the 20% discount, it isn’t that much more expensive than BD. I just wish they had the soft cover one instead.

Leave a Reply

