Weekly Wrap-up.

[This post is done as part of GaCoWriMo, my own personal twist to NaNoWriMo.]

This past week has been productive writing-wise thanks to GaCoWriMo (more on that later). I’ve also had the chance to try out floorball for the first time in school (fun but I’m terrible at it) and played my first badminton game in years (even more fun and I’m also somewhat terrible at it). Plus, I emptied out my wallet for a few items that’ve been on my to-get list for ages.

Manhattan Portage messenger bag

image

Most of my bags are big, school-sized affairs meant to ferry around  textbooks, notes, and assorted academic miscellany. Since I’m no longer a student, I don’t need so much storage. Even though I do always bring out a few essential items, they end up swimming in the bags and I’ve been searching for a smaller one for daily use. The problem with smaller bags is that they’re often pocket-free, always a tad too big or too small, and way overpriced.

This week, while searching for the next item on this list, I stumbled across a Manhattan Portage sale. I’d always liked their bags but they were always a bit too expensive for me. Thankfully, I found the perfect bag in terms of design, colour, size, and shape, and it even comes with a ton of pockets (including a huge front one which I’m loving). The sale price finally lowered it to a possible, if still splurgy, buy, and that’s how I ended up with my new daily bag.

Zagg Keyboard Folio for iPad Mini Retina
image

The iPad has come a long way as a laptop replacement and, thanks to a burgeoning market of quality apps, is now great as a word processor/blogging machine. The only problem, though, is that the on-screen keyboard isn’t meant for long-form typing. Having typed on my old iPad 1 with an Apple bluetooth keyboard (which, alas, would be too comically large for use here), I decided to get one for this one as well.

I spent a long time deliberating between getting a cover vs. a folio and between Logitech’s offerings and Zagg’s (the two market leaders for this accessory range) and finally decided to get this one. It’s lighter, has more keyboard real estate, and better viewing angles than Logitech’s Ultrathin Folio. Plus, the Epicentre I got it from offered me a membership sign-up that, even after paying for the subscription, would still offer several dollars discount on the keyboard!

It’s been great so far – typed out that way too long Naruto entry yesterday on it.

Magazine mania

image

Now, I’m not normally a magazine person, much preferring to consume similar media online. In fact, the only magazine I’ve read regularly in the past few years is local entertainment mag 8 Days on my iPad. Still, I went a bit crazy yesterday and got myself a whole stack of magazines (some of which I’ll be reading for the first time) and that I figured wouldn’t work out too well on my little iPad Mini screen.

GaCoWriMo wrap-up

This has been a surprisingly great start to the challenge. While I initially mentioned a few different types of writing I could do to fulfill my daily quota, I decided to push myself and publish a blog entry every day instead, regardless of whatever else I might write. I’ve been pretty successful so far. This week, I wrote about…

my insane haul at the new library@orchard

the top ten books I’ve reread or would like to reread

the first Kickstarter I contributed to

my experience at the WTA Finals 

the new Whatsapp that inexplicably has everyone in a tizzy

the end of one of my favourite manga series of all time

Questions of the week for readers: what bags do you use on a daily basis? Do you write on your iPad? What magazines do you subscribe to? How has your NaNoWriMo been so far?

Leave a Reply

