Weekly Wrap-up.

[This post is done as part of GaCoWriMo, my own personal twist to NaNoWriMo.]

This week has been relatively relaxed, the most exciting part of it probably being the little food splurge I had on Thursday meeting up with uni buddy Marcus.

image

At his request, we visited Violet Oon’s Kitchen, a Peranakan eatery I’ve heard so much about but never tried because I’m not that big on Nyonya cuisine. It was a little pricey (S$25 exc. GST) but the non-spicy dry laksa above was the best laksa I’ve ever had. The mix of spices was just right without being overwhelming, every bite was a burst of flavours and the crunch of hebe (dried shrimp bits) with every bite was a pleasant, lip-smacking surprise.

image

After the sumptuous lunch, we headed to nearby Rider’s Cafe, which I’ve also heard so much about but never had the chance to visit (it’s quite out of the way, really only accessible by car). Apparently, it’s one of the original hipster cafes, back before the whole craze started. Even with my stomach bloated from decadent laksa, the food was great. The fries had a strong truffle flavour without being too oily while the bread pudding, warm and sweet and oozing with vanilla ice cream, was absolutely heavenly.

image

Plus, I’m pretty sure there are no other hipster cafes at which you can see (and sometimes smell) real horses prancing around, courtesy of the Bukit Timah Saddle Club which the cafe is attached to.

GaCoWriMo wrap-up

I’m proud to say that this challenge is going on pretty smoothly, even if I had to kinda phone it in last night to complete my entry for the day (although, since the focus is more on posting consistency than scale of the posts, I’m still quite happy about it). This week, I…

…talked about my favourite Naruto characters

…listed the top ten characters I feel should get their own books

…detailed my favourite Naruto techniques

…finished off my Naruto tribute series by comparing the manga and the anime

…started the Pokémon ORAS countdown series by looking at the features of the new games I’m most excited about

…let you all know the book I’m currently working my way through

Dear reader, how was your week?

Leave a Reply

