[Top Ten Tuesday] Winter TBR.

[This post is done as part of the Top Ten Tuesday meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. It is also done as part of GaCoWriMo, my own personal twist to NaNoWriMo]

Singapore doesn’t really have winter, although it does get cooler and rainier this time of year. So, technically my Winter TBR list is just, well, my TBR list. Still, I’ll be away in Taiwan next week and it’s supposed to be pretty cold there so this qualifies. I haven’t finished the insane haul I got from my library@orchard expedition but since I’ll be headed overseas and they’re due before I get back, I’ll have to give those up and use this time to clear my even more insane Kindle backlog instead (at least, until I get back home to my physical book pile).

Whatever the case, here are the ten books I’m hoping to read the next few weeks:

6050678 16143347 13549535 23302416 18966322

13496 11861815 20910034 20821121 13414446

  1. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld: the last book from the library@orchard haul that I’m hoping to finish before I fly off, this looks like a pretty interesting read. I didn’t think the Uglies series was that great but Westerfeld writes well enough that I’m willing to give him another go. Flipped through the first few pages of this and there are (great) illustrations!
  2. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart: I’m actually halfway through this one but I took the longest break due to my sudden shift to physical books so I’ll be trying to wrap it up. It was a bit draggy for me but it’s a pretty short title so I’m hoping to power through it and see what the twist that everyone keeps harping on at the end is about.
  3. James Potter and the Morrigan Web by George Norman Lippert: technically this is fanfiction but it’s the best fanfiction series I’ve ever read (by far) and it’s so long that there’s no way I’m not counting it as a full book. I loved the first three and I can’t wait to start on this one now that it’s out.
  4. Wonder by R. J. Palacio: this is another one of those books with massive accolades that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while so this is a pretty good time for me to try it. I’m going into it not knowing what the book is about at all.
  5. Mitosis by Brandon Sanderson: this is actually a novella but I need my BSand fix before his bigger releases come out soon!
  6. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin: Yes yes, I know it’s a travesty that I consider myself a fantasy fan (a FANtasy?) and haven’t started on this series yet. It’s just always been so intimidating (my goldfish memory can barely keep track of the Harry Potter characters, let alone this series which I’m pretty sure has more names in it than the class registers I handle at work).
  7. Winger by Andrew Smith: I have this one in hard copy but I assume I’ll be back from Taiwan wayyyyyyy before I would have finished those six books so I can definitely get on this one then. No idea what this is about, too, other than the fact that it’s widely loved.
  8. The Year of Reading Dangerously by Andy Miller: this looks like a fascinating read and has been in my book pile at home for quite a while so I’m quite excited to get on it. I assume it’ll be similar to Tom Parker-Bowles’ A Year of Eating Dangerously only, well, pulpy.
  9. Strike by D. J. MacHale: I haven’t actually gotten my hands on this yet but I absolutely loved the last two and this just came out recently so I am going to hunt it down and read the heck out of it.
  10. Prodigy by Marie Lu: while the first book in the series has its faults, it was a good enough read that I want to keep going (if only just to find out more about the world it’s set in). Like Strike, I don’t have this yet but I’m sure it’ll be pretty easy to locate.

Dear reader, what’s in your winter TBR?

[all covers from Goodreads]

5 thoughts on “[Top Ten Tuesday] Winter TBR.

Leave a Reply

