[Countdown to Taiwan] Foods I want to eat!

[This post is done as part of GaCoWriMo, my own personal twist to NaNoWriMo.]

Just consult any travel guidebook, website or blog: food is one of the things Taiwan is most famous for. I visited the country several years back and remember being overwhelmed by the overwhelming variety of cheap, good bites. With my trip to Taipei, my first step overseas in years, impending, I’ve decided to do a short anticipatory series and what better way to start it off with the foods I’m most excited to try (or retry)?

1. Cheese baked potato (found at several night markets)

I don’t remember trying this the last time I went and I’m not usually a fan of baked potatoes but so many bloggers have raved about it that I’d be remiss if I don’t give it a go this time.

2. 滷肉飯 [Lu Rou Fan; braised pork rice] (sold pretty much everywhere)

This was the single thing I ate the most the last time I was there and I remember how awesome it was – a little bowl of rice with unbelievably savoury braised pork that just cost about S$1. It was everywhere too.

3. Ice cream peanut popiah [wrap] (found in several places, most notably 饒河街觀光夜市)

This photo of Xinbei is courtesy of TripAdvisor

For some reason, I had no idea this existed until I was researching for this trip. This little dessert sounds great in theory – popiah? Good. Peanut? Gooood. Ice cream? Gooooooood. – so here’s hoping it holds up in reality.

4. Mango shaved ice (found in several places, notably the night markets and at 永康街)

This can be found in Singapore as well but I’ve heard that the ones in Taiwan are so much better. I’m totally a sucker for mangoes anyway so this is definitely topping my desserts list.

5. Beef noodles (found in several places, notably 永康牛肉麵)

I’m normally not that big on beef noodles here, although I am certainly not averse to it, but several blogs have recommended this dish, with the one at 永康 getting the most accolades. Will be getting this before I get the afore-mentioned mango shaved ice, hopefully.

This list is, of course, not comprehensive (and also I can’t believe how little of Taiwan’s signatures I missed when I last visited) and I’m pretty sure my post-trip food list is going to be a lot longer. At the very least, I know I am going to be walking around with a bubble tea in my hand at all times. I mean, it is the birth place of the drink. It would be disrespectful not to honour that.

I have a feeling many jogs will have to be had when I finally get back here.

Dear reader, have you been to Taipei? What foods did you enjoy/dislike?

One thought on “[Countdown to Taiwan] Foods I want to eat!

Leave a Reply

