Best Book Month.

I’m usually hopelessly outdated and useless when it comes to following new book releases except for Brandon Sanderson’s works because, let’s face it, we can always assume a new one is around the corner.

I have been salivating for September’s arrival, though, because I somehow glimpsed from earlier in the year that not only was the follow-up to one of the better comedian autobiographies popping out this month, so was the sequel to the funniest book I’ve read in years.

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling

22716447

I thought the written version of Mindy’s first book was decent, not ridiculously sidesplitting but better than Tina Fey’s and Amy Poehler’s tepid efforts, but the audiobook (narrated, of course, by Mindy herself) was terrific. Her delivery and inflections made the book so much funnier and it was a no-brainer to sink an Audible credit into pre-ordering this one.


Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

23848559

Not content with merely making me (and several million others) smile on a regular basis with her hilarious blog, Lawson also wrote an autobiography so funny that it not only topped my 2012 list, but has remained firmly atop my charts in the years since. Like Mindy (or perhaps even more so), this was an immediate Audible pre-order.

I predict much creepy and frightful (to passersby) laughing while on my daily walks to and fro school these coming few days.

One thought on “Best Book Month.

Leave a Reply

